Author Topic: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...  (Read 1932 times)

Offline lostmytophat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« on: January 23, 2014, 02:31:37 PM »
I set "default_flat_rate_shipping" to...
Status: On
Cost: 20.00
Location: Canada
Tax Class: (I've tried --none-- and Taxable Goods both)
Storefront Icon: (I've tried it with and without)
Auto Select: (I've tried it checked and unchecked)
Accept these payment types: (checked the one I have)
Sort Order: (tried 0,1,and 2)

I have free shipping enabled for the USA, as well as FedEx and UPS options also enabled (all of which are working fine).

Tried a Google search of course, no luck.

There's nothing more I can think to try, so I thought I'd try asking for some help.

gordontaylor

  • Guest
Re: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 03:22:04 PM »
To be clear, you want to offer Free Shipping in the US and $20 Can for Canada?

Offline lostmytophat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 06:09:09 PM »
yes, free shipping in the US, $20 flat rate shipping to Canada

gordontaylor

  • Guest
Re: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2014, 07:28:24 PM »
It can not be done at present from the Admin panel, as far as I can see. You'll need some knowledge of php. I'm not aware of any extensions at present that will accommodate free and flat rate. Currently there is only free, flat rate and weight based shipping.

Do you have the ability to write php to add the option in the check out module?

An alternative would to be to create a second store within your first store for Canadian customers, there the shipping can be set up as Flat Rate $20Can.

It can be done via the admin panel System>settings>create new store.

Set up the new store in a sub-domain or separate folder with a link on the home page - Canadian Customer Click Here - or what have you. Make the path to the sub-folder [domain] and your problem will be solved.

It's the easiest work around I can come up with without writing a new extension.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 08:03:44 PM by gordontaylor »

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4191
  • Karma: +202/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2014, 03:05:44 AM »
yes, free shipping in the US, $20 flat rate shipping to Canada

Hi. I think there is bug in AbanteCart 1.1.7 related to flat rate Location setting. It is alredy fixed in AbanteCart 1.1.8
Please try this fix. (do not forget to backup before any modifications)
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

gordontaylor

  • Guest
Re: Flat rate shipping doesn't seem to be working...
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2014, 06:55:51 AM »
Good to know, thanks!

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod