Author Topic: USPS - First Class Shipping  (Read 11774 times)

Offline Cindy

• View Profile
USPS - First Class Shipping
« on: January 19, 2015, 02:05:43 PM »
Hi,

I'm completely new to AbanteCart and have installed v 1.2 for testing.  I have the USPS shipping extension working but I can't find any settings for the Domestic First Class option.  Currently, for First Class it's only quoting for a stamped letter but I need it to quote for parcels.  Letter, large envelope, and postcard quoting is not needed.

Can someone direct me to this setting?

Thanks,
Cindy

Offline llegrand

• View Profile
Re: USPS - First Class Shipping
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 02:21:14 PM »
First-Class Mail Parcel service can be used for lightweight packages or bulky large envelopes weighing up to 13 ounces.  For heavier items, see Priority Mail in the Rates and Fees Reference. USPS doesn't use First class for packages over 13 ozs-  it uses one of the Priority mail options.  You can test this out at  http://postcalc.usps.com/ 

And here's the USPS information:http://pe.usps.com/businessmail101/classes/firstClass.htm

Hope this helps you determine the class of shipping your need.

Offline Cindy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 02:37:08 PM »
Thanks for your reply, but unfortunately it does not answer my question. The weight of the product in my shopping cart is well under the 13 oz limit which is why I'm getting a First Class quote.  The problem is it's not quoting for First Class parcels it's only quoting for a stamped letter.  It will quote for a First Class Mail International Parcel just not domestic. For domestic it quotes a letter rate.  There must be a setting somewhere that allows you to choose which First Class options you'd like to use.

Offline Riin

• View Profile
    • Happy Fuzzy Yarn (wholesale)
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2016, 06:47:50 PM »