Author Topic: Product ID generation  (Read 2811 times)

Offline unclesam2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Product ID generation
« on: December 04, 2015, 12:51:19 PM »
Hello guys! trying to understand how this Product ID  generator works and how to change the value.   
After manual importation I can't add new product in admin, I have couple thousands of products in my cart and all works good, except I can't add anything new from the admin panel. Sure, I can do it manually, but would like to solve this issue,  so lets say when I add new product it starts from 10001 and so on

couldn't find it anywhere in database., so please help me out!

Thank you

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4153
  • Karma: +251/-9
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2015, 04:57:03 PM »
When you say you can not add, what exactly do you mean? Do you get an error? What is the error? What do you see in the log after you try to add?
We need your help to build better free open source eCommerce platform for everyone.
See how you can help

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4396
  • Karma: +205/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 03:31:10 AM »
Hi.
 What is your hosting operating system (Windows or Linux hosting)?
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline unclesam2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2015, 10:34:22 AM »
System: Linux

if you try to add through panel,  you seen just processing status all the time and it doesn't add the product, nothing was registered in error log.

the work around was to you import 1 line through admin panel and put product id lets say 5000, so after that you can start adding product normally through admin panel. the next id product will be 5001

but still I would like to find out where the product id generator takes it's value... anyone ?

thanks
« Last Edit: December 08, 2015, 04:11:50 PM by unclesam2010 »

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4396
  • Karma: +205/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2015, 12:32:11 AM »
Hi.
Product id generated automatically in mysql database. So problem in mysql database in my opinion.  Try to fix it in phpmyadmin.
    Log in to cPanel. and backup database!...
    In the Databases section of the cPanel home screen, click phpMyAdmin. ...
    In the left pane, click the name of the database that you want to work on. ...
    In the right pane, select the check boxes for the all tables in the database that you want to optimize and repair.
https://www.a2hosting.com/kb/cpanel/cpanel-database-features/optimizing-and-repairing-mysql-databases-with-phpmyadmin
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline unclesam2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2015, 07:42:50 PM »
will try and post the result. thank you

Offline unclesam2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Product ID generation
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2015, 02:32:04 PM »
Repairing Database tables helped. Thank you for your support!!!

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod