Author Topic: Want to reinstall my abantecart application!  (Read 16326 times)

Offline alanwilliams5

• View Profile
Want to reinstall my abantecart application!
« on: December 09, 2015, 09:12:29 AM »
My installation of Abantecart on my Godaddy website has been riddled with problems and errors and things I can't change .

So I have decided to uninstall and reinstall everything again onto my website.
Is that a good idea? as I have come very far with regards to my product catalog with nearly 300 products and categories; Is there a way to directly import everything including all the images? I would just drag and drop images onto the products using the resource library option. as I have to launch my website tomorrow and have been delaying it this long hoping to somehow solve all my problems, but no luck.

Please help; I'm still fairly new to the whole cpanel and php interface so alot of things go over my head; and this forum has helped me alot so far but I feel if I reinstall everything it'll help. Please comment!

Offline abantecart

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Want to reinstall my abantecart application!
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 09:30:06 AM »
There is a way to do this, but steps are slightly technical. I think this was already covered on this forum before under moving to different hosting, but steps are similar.

1. Back up your store and export your database with phpmyadmin to your local computer

2. Move your abantecart folder into different location (do not delete)

3. Install new AbanteCart copy.

4. Import database from your local file into new database replacing all tables
NOTE: If you had problem in your database in prior installation, problem will be copied. You might need to so selective import.

5. Copy resources folder (images, downloads, new extensions if you have any) from older AbanteCart folder to new.
Note: make sure that all files and folders in resources folder have 777 permissions.