Author Topic: About fallback static banner  (Read 1366 times)

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
About fallback static banner
« on: February 14, 2018, 04:03:09 PM »
Hi guys  :)

I have the following question:

Whatever I do the fallback static banner does not work properly (as it is doing in the demo of abantecart).

Please note that I did change the banner with one of my own... but I did follow all instructions (image size is 940X351 px).

Also, I already have read through all documentation about it...

Any ideas something like that can be fixed?

I thank you in advance
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3769
  • Karma: +184/-0
    • View Profile
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2018, 12:37:42 AM »
Hi, what exactly is not work for you?
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2018, 06:35:06 AM »
Hi Basara and sorry for the delayed reply...

When I resize the window to observe how the store responses to the various screen sizes... when I reach the size of a mobile, instead of the fallback banner to kick in (as it happens in your demo), it just does not happen...

No fallback banner appears and that part appears to be messed-up somehow... although I also did follow the instructions of the documentation...

On top of that, it shows as a 6th main banner...???
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 06:39:42 AM by everchanging »
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2018, 06:37:04 AM »
And I did pm you the link to the store directly to check it out ;)
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3769
  • Karma: +184/-0
    • View Profile
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2018, 06:39:57 AM »
You have a third-party template. Please contact developer
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2018, 06:54:03 AM »
ok... I see thank you
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2018, 06:57:21 AM »
One question through...

Is there a way when somebody uses his/her PC to have the main banners active but once someone switches to let us say, mobile screen, for these banners to be deactivated?
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3769
  • Karma: +184/-0
    • View Profile
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2018, 07:00:27 AM »
Yes, this is very simple to archive with CSS media queries. Hide a div with banner for specific resolution
Code: [Select]
@media only screen and (max-width: 500px) {
    #mybanner-div-id {
        display:none;
    }
}
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2018, 07:06:20 AM »
OK.. so basically I enter the CSS (style.css or response.ccs ?) file add this section below the banner section (?) and it should do the trick?

edit:


I went into storefront/view/default/stylesheet/style.css

added the code at the end of the stylesheet and saved it.

If I have understood you correctly and done it correctly; it is a matter of propagation now... so once the change appears I will keep you posted.

If on the other hand, I did something wrong please let me know.

I thank you  :)
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 07:15:23 AM by everchanging »
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2018, 10:54:08 AM »
so far nothing...

for the records, I did end the code you wrote at the end of both css files (namely, style.css or response.ccs)

am I missing something? :-/
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Online Sam_78

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +21/-1
    • View Profile
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2018, 04:02:41 PM »
IMO as you are using different template you need to put code that style.css file not the one you have in storefront. Locate files for template under extension folder and then add these line inside its style.css

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2018, 04:03:58 PM »
Hi Sam,

thanks for the reply... yes I realized that after a couple of minutes and did that exactly... but still the same problem remains...

the link below is the one that leads to the css file(s):
/extensions/si_orange_theme/storefront/view/si_orange_theme/stylesheet
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 04:14:21 PM by everchanging »
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2018, 05:56:19 PM »
Basara, what I did add at the end of the css was the following:

@media only screen and (max-width: 500px) {    #banner_slides {        display:none;    }}

I did send you the link...

did I do something wrong here?

also:
the link below is the one that leads to the css file(s):
/extensions/si_orange_theme/storefront/view/si_orange_theme/stylesheet
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3769
  • Karma: +184/-0
    • View Profile
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2018, 12:27:41 AM »
Hello. Did you clear browser cache?
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline everchanging

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ancient Greece Reloaded
Re: About fallback static banner
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2018, 01:46:15 AM »
Hi..

yes I did but so far I accomplished nothing...  :-\
"I know one thing; that I know nothing"