Please help us to make AbanteCart Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution for everyone.

Support AbanteCart eCommerce

Author Topic: Failed upgrade?  (Read 289 times)

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Failed upgrade?
« on: October 01, 2018, 11:14:26 AM »
I did an inline upgrade from 1.2.12  to 1.2.13 that posted a "failed" message but I noticed that the footer stated that I had installed the latest version was. How do you force a upgrade reinstallation to be sure all of the new files, etc. are installed correctly?

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3972
  • Karma: +243/-9
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2018, 02:00:09 PM »
You can only do update of your files from upgrade package manually.

Since you see version changed I think SQL upgrade part was completed.

Check the error log under system/logs directory to see the error.
We need your help to build better free open source eCommerce platform for everyone.
See how you can help

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2018, 02:21:05 PM »
The error logs are blank!

So can I do it again, manually just to make sure that it installed properly?

The email system doesn't send emails, so it may be an incomplete installation.

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2018, 11:15:35 AM »
What exactly is meant by a manual upgrade? Is there a step by step guide, that isn't vague?

I noticed from the demo install that the prefix to the table entries are different from the working database. Does the "upgrade" change that prefix, so if it hasn't been changed, the database has not been upgraded?

Does anyone know?

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3808
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2018, 12:51:15 AM »
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2018, 06:24:00 PM »
I'm working through the very, very vague instructions here as the automatic upgrade failed, so I have some questions -

 https://abantecart.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/AD/pages/5275676/Upgrade+manually

After copying and overwriting the current files structure using the 1.2.13 upgrade files I now have to "Run modified upgrade.sql" I think I open PHPmysadmin, select the database and click the SQL tab. I copy and paste the lengthy text contents of the upgrade.sql file into the box, Run SQL query/queries on database and then Go?

As upgrade.php file present in upgrade 1.2.13 archive, copy the upgrade.php file into /folder_where_cart_installed/admin/controller/common/head.php in about line 30, (whatever that actually means).

This is the "about line 30" from the head.php file -

//use to init controller data
      $this->extensions->hk_InitData($this, __FUNCTION__);

      $this->load->helper('html');
      $this->loadLanguage('common/header');

      $message_link = $this->html->getSecureURL('tool/message_manager');

This means add this line in an empty line to execute it by opening a web browser and logging into the admin account ONCE. Then log out, and remove the file AND the line reference?

"include('/yourpathtofile/upgrade.php'); 

Load admin page once! This will execute PHP update script and will run commands from the upgrade.php file"

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3808
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2018, 01:10:38 AM »
Before run upgrade sql in phpmyadmin make sure you change database prefix to same you have in your current database.

Load admin once mean load any page in admin, than remove that line. No need to logout
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2018, 08:42:48 AM »
Is this true?

I now have to "Run modified upgrade.sql" I think I open PHPmysadmin, select the database and click the SQL tab. I copy and paste the lengthy text contents of the upgrade.sql file into the box, Run SQL query/queries on database and then Go?

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3808
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2018, 08:53:12 AM »
“Chuck Norris is so amazing.”
― Mother Teresa

Offline natdroid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +25/-2
    • View Profile
    • Contact
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2018, 01:20:47 AM »
Check it out! upgrade abantecart and help resolve upgrade issues for $15 on #Fiverr https://www.fiverr.com/s2/282a9d6acf
Balanced abantecart hosting https://goo.gl/CDePDg
Abantecart help https://www.fiverr.com/s2/019342ef58

Offline alevene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +6/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Failed upgrade?
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2018, 09:00:55 AM »
That being said, and I cannot find a clear example of applying the upgrade.sql file to my database, can anyone actually describe how it's done?

1  I don't see a way to import the file and run it within PHPMyAdmin. Can I, and if so how? Yes, I select the database where I can view the tables, click on the SQL tab and then...?

2  Do I only need to copy and paste the lengthy text contents of the upgrade.sql file into the box, Run SQL query/queries on database and then Go?

Please don't point to articles that are not relevant. This is a simple questions to someone who has done it, and the AbanteCart manual instructs are close to useless.

Thanks,