Author Topic: Backup copy questions  (Read 118 times)

Offline jimbo17

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Backup copy questions
« on: September 09, 2019, 04:27:30 PM »
I will try and explain what I am doing.

I made a mistake and deleted a sub domain that had all of the abantecart products on it.

I next made a backup copy of my shopping cart from Abantecart and upload that to me desk top.

I created a new sub domain which appears in my public_html directory and then went into files and uploaded the backup copy of my shopping cart products and now I am not sure what to do next.

My hosting service has not been much help with any of this.

I could really use some help trying to figure this out.

Thank You Jim

Offline llegrand

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1472
  • Karma: +383/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 06:58:45 PM »
Do I understand correctly  that you do have a working AbanteCart on your domain?


If so,  do you have Softaculous on your cPanel?

Let me know the answers to these two questions and  I can provide you with a very simple fix.

Offline jimbo17

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2019, 09:56:09 AM »
Yes I have a working AbanteCart shopping cart on my website and I also have Softaculous in my cPanel

Thanks for your help.

Jim

Offline llegrand

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1472
  • Karma: +383/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2019, 10:08:09 AM »
You can use Softaculous  to CLONE your existing working site into another subdomain

here's the info how:
https://www.softaculous.com/docs/enduser/clone/

It will NOT mess up your existing site.  It will make a different db associated with the new url.
It will use the same admin logon creds   (you can change them later)

Depending on your settings you may have to change the URL address within the admin settings of the new location ,  at least for the SSL field.

You many have to update the htaccess  rewrite notification for the subdomain.

I don't know what version of Softaculous you have access to and they all act a bit differently  as to getting the settings updated.

If you mess it up,  you can safely delete the cloned site  without affecting your working site.

Regards
The Support Team at WHY2





Offline jimbo17

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2019, 02:03:50 PM »
Thanks for that information.

That was exactly what I was hoping for.

Jim

Offline jimbo17

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2019, 11:07:05 AM »
Just wanted to let you know all of my files were backed up correctly.

Thanks for great advice and knowledge.

Jim

Offline llegrand

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1472
  • Karma: +383/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2019, 11:55:12 AM »
Happy to hear it worked for you.

Just a FYI -  you do set your Softaculous for auto daily backups  with at least 4 days generations (they allow up to 10)
I can be a life saver to!.

cheers

Lee with the Support Team
at WHY2

Offline SAMY

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +5/-21
  • SAMY
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2019, 11:40:20 PM »
Hi!

Don't do that mistake again :D

Good luck
Thanks Abantecart for being in my life & for your Support
REGARDS
SAMY

Offline jimbo17

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backup copy questions
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2019, 06:29:40 AM »
I agree with you!

Jim

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod