Author Topic: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)  (Read 5195 times)

Offline James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« on: January 19, 2012, 07:10:57 AM »
Dear All,

Tried the SEO URL Option so noticed few things which i was wondering and had some doubts about. please do clarify my doubts.

And also haven't heard from you guys :P something surely is keeping you guys busy ! :D


1. when using SEO URL option for Root Categories it works fine   example.com/category/
2. when using sub category under a root category it displays this way   example.com/index.php?rt=product/category&path=8_30
3. When view products from a root category    example.com/category/?product_id=2
4. when viewing product  from under sub category   example.com/index.php?rt=product/product&path=8_30&product_id=2

Is this supposed to be like that??

Also when viewing product categories and brands

example.com/xyzbrand
example.com/pqrcategory

would it be more seo friendly to use

example.com/brand/xyz
example.com/category/pqr
example.com/product/category/product name :)

 ::)

just a thought... :D
echo $james;

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4139
  • Karma: +250/-9
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2012, 12:32:32 PM »
We do have SEO URL working as you describe.

Make sure you rename the htaccess.txt to .htaccess
Also check that you server supports RewriteEngine

I am double checking if there is any issues on the code side for new release we work on.
We need your help to build better free open source eCommerce platform for everyone.
See how you can help

Offline James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 01:05:14 AM »
Yes abantecart,

Setup .htaccess (already)

also yes the RewriteEngine is supported.

I have send u a PM with the link of it.

echo $james;

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4139
  • Karma: +250/-9
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 12:00:59 PM »
We did not find any issues with SEO for products

Make sure you have product set with seo keyword. If you do not have any seo keyword  you will see normal URL.

Hope this helps.

We need your help to build better free open source eCommerce platform for everyone.
See how you can help

Offline James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2012, 04:04:29 AM »
We did not find any issues with SEO for products

Make sure you have product set with seo keyword. If you do not have any seo keyword  you will see normal URL.

Hope this helps.


What in the case of 1000+ products under catalog of a certain store.

And someone uses Same SEO Keyword for multiple products such as example

"Compaq CQ 60 Notebook"  and uses the same again "Compaq CQ 60 Notebook"

Although technically i don't see it happening, but am not sure if in a certain scenario / product there could be a need for it.

Cuz in case same SEO keywords are used, only the first product with the same keyword is shown for all other products with same keyword.
echo $james;

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4139
  • Karma: +250/-9
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2012, 09:38:59 AM »
We have update next version to have SEO Keyword for products be set automatically to the product name if not provided. Duplication will be checked as well.

It will available in v 0.9.2
We need your help to build better free open source eCommerce platform for everyone.
See how you can help

Offline James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Use SEO URL's: Option (Query for Information)
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2012, 01:35:23 AM »
We have update next version to have SEO Keyword for products be set automatically to the product name if not provided. Duplication will be checked as well.

It will available in v 0.9.2

That's GREAT  :)  eagerly waiting for next release.
echo $james;

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod