AbanteCart Community

Shopping Cart Operations => Support => Template Support => Topic started by: Shades on January 14, 2013, 07:03:59 AM

Title: Keywords help please
Post by: Shades on January 14, 2013, 07:03:59 AM
How do I add keywords to the main page? When I run my site through a keyword analyzer it says missing keyword meta tag and no keywords. The keywords do show up on the product pages though but I would like/need keywords on the main page too!

Thanks 8)
Title: Re: Keywords help please
Post by: abantecart on January 14, 2013, 04:21:59 PM
Add the following code to /storefront/controller/pages/index/home.php file:

Code: [Select]
$this->document->setKeywords( 'key words' );

I will add extra config for this in comming up version 1.1.3.
Title: Re: Keywords help please
Post by: Shades on January 15, 2013, 02:26:36 AM
That worked great! Now I just need a robots tag and an author tag.

Thanks! :)
Title: Re: Keywords help please
Post by: Amarbir on January 21, 2013, 05:35:41 AM
Add the following code to /storefront/controller/pages/index/home.php file:

Code: [Select]
$this->document->setKeywords( 'key words' );

I will add extra config for this in comming up version 1.1.3.

Sir ,
      SEO Is a Very Weak Point Of AbanteCart Cart .Other Scripts Make Google Go Rock And Roll .Its Been 21 Days Plus Since Launch and i Cannot even See My Website Anywhere in Google Still ,Its Too Far Off Down To Get Any Hits .Webasyst is ultra cool in this regard .No Meage Description and Tags in Homepage .Did you sort this in version 1.1.3 ?


PS :  Where Exactly To Enter this ? in the code
Title: Re: Keywords help please
Post by: abantecart on January 21, 2013, 06:03:27 AM
Google finding your site  has little to do with the code, unless you specifically specify search engines not to follow your site.

http://tools.seobook.com/robots-txt/

AbanteCart has all SEO tools to help google to crawl and locate information about your site.

The question is, WHO will tell google that your site exists and make it think your site is popular and needs to be ranked.

I suggest you read up on search engine submission 
http://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/sites/MMo2ulr0Rvc

Also, keywords are not important in google any longer
http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2009/09/google-does-not-use-keywords-meta-tag.html

Finally, this fix is already in 1.1.3