Author Topic: 412 Error  (Read 203 times)

Offline squinn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
412 Error
« on: April 13, 2022, 10:22:26 AM »
Hello,

Thanks in advance for advice. The site I'm building is not yet complete, but I have noticed an issue I want to iron out before going live.
This site uses abantecart version  1.3.2

Every now and then I get a 412 error. So far tested on chrome/desktop, firefox/desktop and chrome/phone

The error is when the link shows as follows: 
https://domainname/index.php?_route_=pagename 

However, it sometimes goes through just fine when the url is as above.

It always allows it to go through (even after throwing the error) when I alter the url to be like this:
https://domainname/pagename

I have SEO URLS turned on.
I have renamed the .htaccess.txt to .htaccess. I have added a little code at the end to force it to https. But otherwise have not altered it at all.

I do not have this error in my other abantecart site which runs smoothly, and uses 1.2.16.

The exact error is copy and pasted below

412 Error
Your request got filtered out due to possible security issues.

One or more things in your request were suspicious (defective request header, invalid cookies, bad parameters)

If you think you did nothing wrong:

try again with a different browser
avoid any evil characters inside the request url
If you are the owner of the website, you can consider revising the rules of the mod_security module or turning it off from your Web Hosting Control Panel.


Should I turn off the mod_security module? And how do I do that?

Thanks again. Australia time zone here, so I'm overdue for sleep. Will check replies in the morning.

Offline Basara

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5228
  • Karma: +261/-2
    • View Profile
Re: 412 Error
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2022, 01:10:39 AM »
Hello,

Thanks in advance for advice. The site I'm building is not yet complete, but I have noticed an issue I want to iron out before going live.
This site uses abantecart version  1.3.2

Every now and then I get a 412 error. So far tested on chrome/desktop, firefox/desktop and chrome/phone

The error is when the link shows as follows: 
https://domainname/index.php?_route_=pagename 

However, it sometimes goes through just fine when the url is as above.

It always allows it to go through (even after throwing the error) when I alter the url to be like this:
https://domainname/pagename

I have SEO URLS turned on.
I have renamed the .htaccess.txt to .htaccess. I have added a little code at the end to force it to https. But otherwise have not altered it at all.

I do not have this error in my other abantecart site which runs smoothly, and uses 1.2.16.

The exact error is copy and pasted below

412 Error
Your request got filtered out due to possible security issues.

One or more things in your request were suspicious (defective request header, invalid cookies, bad parameters)

If you think you did nothing wrong:

try again with a different browser
avoid any evil characters inside the request url
If you are the owner of the website, you can consider revising the rules of the mod_security module or turning it off from your Web Hosting Control Panel.


Should I turn off the mod_security module? And how do I do that?

Thanks again. Australia time zone here, so I'm overdue for sleep. Will check replies in the morning.

Hello. You should contact your hosting support. This error is not related to AbanteCart.
The mod_security configuration may cause such issues try to disable it or ask your hosting support to configure it correctly

Offline squinn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 412 Error
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2022, 07:32:56 AM »
Thank you

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod