AbanteCart Community

eCommerce construction => Installation and Configuration => Topic started by: abantecart on December 22, 2014, 11:56:14 AM

Title: Warning: Your server have APC (Alternative PHP Cache) php module enabled
Post by: abantecart on December 22, 2014, 11:56:14 AM
What should you do if you get warning/error below during installation:

"Warning: Your server have APC (Alternative PHP Cache) php module enabled. Please disable it before installation!"
Or
'Warning: Your server have opcache php module enabled. Please disable it before installation!'

Background for the issue.
We have noticed instability in cache operations related APC and Opcache modules. These are not default cache engines and we recommend to disable them before you install AbanteCart. This is set as requirement, but if you confident APC or Opcache will work well, you can disable this validation.

Solutions:
A. Disable  APC or  Opcache
http://php.net/manual/en/apc.configuration.php
http://serverfault.com/questions/334047/disable-or-remove-apc
OR
http://php.net/manual/en/opcache.configuration.php
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/21556437/disable-opcache-temporally

B. Disable validation check in the code:
Open file install/controller/pages/settings.php for edit
Locate lines 133:138 and delete them or comment out.

Code: [Select]
if (ini_get('opcache.enable')) {
$this->error['warning'] = 'Warning: Your server have opcache php module enabled. Please disable it before installation!';
}
if (ini_get('apc.enabled')) {
$this->error['warning'] = 'Warning: Your server have APC (Alternative PHP Cache) php module enabled. Please disable it before installation!';
}

 
Title: Re: Warning: Your server have APC (Alternative PHP Cache) php module enabled
Post by: abolabo on December 22, 2014, 01:19:19 PM
You also can to disable apc for your AbanteCart directory just adding line
Code: [Select]
apc.enabled = 0;into your php.ini file (see it in public_html directory)
Title: Re: Warning: Your server have APC (Alternative PHP Cache) php module enabled
Post by: abantecart on December 22, 2014, 02:18:38 PM
Make sure that your host supports php.ini processing from your directory path. Otherwise, you will need to edit this in the main php.ini configuration.