Author Topic: HTML tags in the product name?  (Read 2642 times)

Offline junkyard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
HTML tags in the product name?
« on: October 30, 2013, 03:59:25 PM »
Hello!
We are thinking of better formatting for the product names  shown in store's product listing (the lists generated from search and by choosing a category),  namely we have to split the long product names that we have into 2 separate lines:

current behavior:
       PRODUCT NAME SHORT DESCRIP
                              TION
to =>
                    PRODUCT NAME
                    SHORT DESCRIPTION

Currently,  product names continue to the second line automatically after the 26th character or so, but we need to be able to specify by what exact character the new line should start for each product name we have. Inserting some extra spaces in name is ignored and did not help either..
We thought it could be achieved by adding HTML tags like <br> directly into the product names at Catalog > Products > click on product > General > Product Name field,  but HTML gets treated as simple text, so no help here..  :( Is there any way to do it,  maybe escaping the tags somehow, or else?   
Any ideas are appreciated! 
Thank you

Offline abantecart

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4322
  • Karma: +291/-10
    • View Profile
    • Ideal Open Source Ecommerce Solution
Re: HTML tags in the product name?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 11:10:54 PM »
Can you post sceenshot or link?

I can not see how word can be wrapped in 2 parts. Are you sure you do not have space between DESCRIP TION?
Please  rate your experience or leave your review
We need your help to build better free open source ecommerce platform for everyone. See how you can help

Offline junkyard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HTML tags in the product name?
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2013, 09:36:17 AM »
There were names like  Chrysler engine oil filter 4.7/V8/4.0/L6    where "/4.0/L6" part kept leaping.  Looks like it was because of that / character in all cases. Sometimes it was backslash, sometimes it was forward. We have replaced slashes with dashes to solve the problem.  Thank you for the hint!

 

Powered by SMFPacks Social Login Mod